skip to Main Content

Intellectual Property: Methods and Perspectives.

1st Annual Congress of the International Association for the Advancement of Teaching and Research in Intellectual Property (ATRIP)
Chicago, July 29 to August 1, 2012
Sunday, July 29
16:00 – 18:30 ATRIP Executive Committee Meeting
18:30 – 20:30 ATRIP Congress 2012 Pre-registration and Welcome Reception
Monday, July 30
08:00 – 08:30 Registration
08:30 – 09:00 Welcome
Graeme Dinwoodie (Oxford)
Dean Hal Krent (Chicago-Kent)
Dr. Stuart Graham (Chief Economist, U.S. Patent & Trademark Office)
Carlotta Graffigna (Executive Director, WIPO Academy and IP Human Capital Development, WIPO, on behalf of Director-General, WIPO)
09:00 – 11:00 Session 1: Law and Economics
Chair: Jens Schovsbo (Copenhagen)
Stacey Dogan (Boston University)
“Economic Tools in Intellectual Property Analysis: An Overview”
Beth Webster (Melbourne)
“Myths, Economics and Legal Analysis”
Andrew Griffiths (Manchester)
“Trade Marks and Quality Assurance”
Andreas Rahmatian (Glasgow)
“Turning Belief into Science? The Law and Economics Analysis of Intellectual Property Rights “
Niva Elkin-Koren (Haifa)
Mor Bakhoum (Max Planck, Munich)
“Approaching the Innovation Paradigm from the Perspective of the Market: Preserving Incentive to Innovate by Protecting Freedom to Compete”
Yasser Gadallah (Helwan University, Cairo)
11:00 – 11:30 Coffee Break
11:30 – 13:00 Session 2: Political Science
Chair: Jan Rosen (Stockholm)
Jay Thomas (Georgetown)
Gustavo Ghidini (Milan)
Niklas Bruun (Helsinki)
13:00 – 14:00 Lunch
14:00 – 15:30 Session 3: Law and History
Chair: Christian Le Stanc (Montpellier)
Lionel Bently (Cambridge)
“What Is ‘The History of Intellectual Property’?”
Martin Kretchmer (Bournemouth)
“Norms of Communication and Norms of Transaction: What Can We Learn from the History of Copyright?”
Barbara Lauriat (Kings College London)
“Classical Credentials for Copyright — Roman Law in Copyright Treatises”
Tomás Gómez-Arostegui(Lewis & Clark)
“Copyright at Common Law before 1710 and Its Modern Implications”
15:30 – 16:00 Coffee Break
16:00 – 17:30 Session 4: Law and Science
Chair: Annette Kur (Max Planck, Munich)
Rochelle Dreyfuss (New York University)
“Invention and the Law of Invention: Immiscible Domains?”
Jerry Reichman (Duke)
“When Copyright Law and Science Collide: Empowering Digitally Integrated Research Methods on a Global Scale”
Dan Burk (UC Irvine)
“Intellectual Property’s Black Box “
Margaret Ann Wilkinson (University of Western Ontario)
“Prior Art Collaboration:  Re-balancing Public and Patent Through Peer Participation”
17:30 – 18:00 Presentation of Winner of ATRIP Essay Competition
Introduction: Jan Rosen (Stockholm)
Speaker & Competition Winner: Carl Mair (Leiden)
19:00-21:00 Welcome Dinner and Reception (Chicago Cultural Center)
Tuesday, July 31
08:30 – 10:15 Session 5: International Relations/Law and Development
Chair: Susy Frankel (Victoria University, Wellington)
Ruth Okediji (Minnesota)
“Copyright Islands and the Future of International Copyright”
Peter Yu (Drake)
“Intellectual Property and International Relations”
Margaret Chon (Seattle)
“PPPs in Global IP: Public-Private Partnerships in Global Intellectual Property”
Estelle Derclaye (Nottingham)
“What Can Intellectual Property Law Learn from Happiness Research?”
Maciej Barczewski (Gdansk)
“Intellectual Property and the Philosophy of Sustainable Development”
Adebambo Adewopo (Nigerian Institute for Advanced Legal Studies)
“IP International Relations at the Intersection of the Development Question: Some Reflections on Developing Africa”
10:15 – 10:45 Coffee Break
10:45 – 12:15 Session 6: Empirical Analysis and Social Science
Chair: Alexander Peukert (Frankfurt)
Barton Beebe (New York University)
“Systematic Content Analysis and Its Discontents”
Dirk Visser (Leiden)
“Deciding Intellectual Property Cases”
Nari Lee (Hanken School of Economics, Helsinki)
“Inner and Outer Limits of Patent Protection: A Case Study Research Method v. Systematic Contents Analysis”
Darryl Lim (John Marshall)
“Studying Patent Misuse: A Measure of Equity”
David Schwartz (Chicago-Kent)
“Empirical Studies of Patent Litigation: Observational Data, Experiments, and Beyond “
12:15 – 12:30 (Short) Coffee Break
12:30 – 13:30 Session 6 continued: Behavioural Science
Chair: Alexander Peukert (Frankfurt)
Mathias Leistner (Bonn)
“Behavioural Science and IP: Possibilities, Challenges & Limits”
Stefan Bechtold (Zurich)
“Creativity Tasks in the Lab”
Irina Manta (Hofstra)
“Reasonable Copyright “
13:30 – 14:30 Lunch
14:30 – 16:00 Session 7: Law & Humanities (Literature/Cultural Analysis/Philosophy)
Chair: Alberto Musso (Bologna)
Christophe Geiger (Strasbourg)
“IP and Ethics”
David Tan (National University of Singapore)
“A Cultural Studies Approach to Copyright Fair Use Doctrine: Transcoding and Transformation”
Carys Craig (Osgoode Hall)
“Feminist Conceptions of the Creative Self: Some Lessons for Copyright Law “
David Lametti (McGill)
“Copyright and Virtue”
Lior Zemer (Herzliya)
“Dialogical Transactions and Sites of Copyright”
16:00 – 16:30 Coffee Break
16:30 – 18:00 Session 8: Comparative and Doctrinal Analysis
Chair; Daniel Gervais (Vanderbilt)
Martin Senftleben (Free University, Amsterdam)
“Comparative Approaches to Fair Use”
Irene Calboli (Marquette)
“Comparative Methodology in Trademark Law”
Keita Sato (Chuo)
Li Hua (Beijing Normal)
“ISP Liability Regulation and its enforcement in China: From Comparative Perspective”
19:30 – 22:30 Architectural Boat Cruise
(boarding from 19:00
to 19:30)
Wednesday, August 1
08:30 – 09:45 Session 9: Using Different Methods in Teaching
Chair: Tana Pistorius (University of South Africa)
Raquel Xalabarder (UOC-Universitat Oberta de Catalunya, Barcelona)
Luis Mariano Genovesi (Buenos Aries)
Mark McKenna (Notre Dame)
Carlotta Graffigna (WIPO Academy)
09:45 – 11:00 Session 10: National Reports
Chair: Jose Gomez Segade (University of Santiago de Compostela)
Ysolde Gendreau (University of Montreal)
Hong Xue (Beijing Normal)
Conrad Visser (Univ. of South Africa, Pretoria)
Edouard Treppoz (Lyon)
11:00 – 12:15 Session 11: Scholarship
Chair: Reto Hilty (Max Planck, Munich)
Michael Madison (Pittsburgh)
Peter Yu (Drake)
Christoph Antons (Deakin University, Australia)
12:15 – 12:45 General Assembly
Chair: Graeme Dinwoodi
Back To Top